Food Waste

The March 2009 issue of Reader’s Digest claims that we will pitch 12 percent of what we purchase at the grocery store (Thirteen Things Your Grocer Won’t Tell You).

According to  a CBS news report in July of 2008 The average American family wastes $1,200 in food each year, says Timothy Jones, who’s been studying food waste for almost two decades.

That is just disturbing.  So, even if I am slightly better than average and only throw out 10 percent that means if I bring home 10 bags of groceries then I will end up wasting 1 of those full bag of groceries? 

I wondered what I could do to avoid wasting food, thus wasting money; something most of us cannot afford to do in these tough economic times.  I went to the internet, of course, and I found this article, that gives tips on how to avoid food waste, complete with links on food storage. 

Here are some more links to other articles addressing this issue:
Ways to avoid food waste
Avoid being a chronic food-waster
Avoiding food waste
5 ways to stop wasting food
Why do we waste so much food?
Reduce your food waste by using up odds and ends
Are you throwing away food?

After reading on this subject I believe that waste is mostly a result of poor planning.  We do not plan according to our inventory, our schedule, the expiration dates, or we just do not plan, period! 

In the future, I will definitely be putting some of these ideas into practice.

How do you avoid food waste?

Published in: on February 16, 2009 at 3:47 AM  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldmasonjar.wordpress.com/2009/02/16/food-waste/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is a GREAT post, with great information!

    I menu plan, and I always plan for leftovers. Usually they go to work with me, but if I know I’ll have a lot leftover I plan the next nights meal around what I anticipate to be left.

    Roasted Chicken and Rice one night, can become chicken fajitas/tacos/enchiladas and spanish rice the next, or a Cheesy Chicken, Green Chili and Rice casserole.

    This week I know I’ll have chicken leftover, but I might also have pork leftover, so I planned a generic leftover night rather than factoring leftovers into a specific meal.

    I also specifically plan a pantry cleanout night every Sunday to avoid wasting food. Mystery meals are concocted of whatever I have in the fridge and cupboards. I also use this night to survey my pantry to help plan the next weeks meals.

  2. My mom used to make some of those mystery meals when we were growing up! :)
    Reminds me of the book The Prize Winner Of Defiance, Ohio: How My Mother Raised 10 Kids On 25 Words Or Less
    – the mom didn’t have anything in the pantry but an old soup packet and it had bugs in it and she told the kids the bugs were spices.

  3. […] you are using up items you already have on hand, you will be saving money and avoiding food waste.   Bon Appétit! Published […]


Leave a Reply

