New Potatoes and Green Beans

My mom used to fix this in the summer from fresh homegrown garden vegetables out of her backyard garden.  A big bowl of this served with some sliced bread and butter, and dinner was served!

I was reminded of this summer time treat today when I found a scrap of paper that read:

New Pot Green Beans

Cut bacon fry
Add 2 or 3 Tbs grease or raw bacon (3  or 4)
Green Beans
   cook until
1/2 small onion and potatoes (2lbs)

I’m sure I must have scrawled this down as Mom instructed from the other end of the phone, several states away, and that it all made sense at the time.  I’m also sure that I intended to rewrite it on a recipe card and put it in my recipe box for future use.    I didn’t.  Instead, I’m left with “cut bacon fry”.  I really need to get this recipe, in it’s entirety, from my mom!   In the meantime, I’ll have to settle for the recipe from someone else’s mama.

Thank goodness for the internet and Miss Paula Deen!  Here’s a recipe for this delicious meal, and this one is even complete!

Published in: on April 11, 2009 at 2:45 AM  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldmasonjar.wordpress.com/2009/04/11/new-potatoes-and-green-beans/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog. This recipe reminded me of my late mom & her huge garden she had when I was in high school. Green beans was a staple in our house year around.


Leave a Reply

