“Cool” Quotes

mondaymusingslady

Monday Musings is hosted each Monday by Barbara at Candy Hearts and Paper Flowers.

 This week I have found some “cool” quotes from Calvin Coolidge, the 30th President of the United States.

Free Clipart Picture of  President, Calvin Coolidge, 1923. Click Here to Get Free Images at School Clipart

“Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence.
Talent will not. Nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent.
Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. 
Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts.
Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.
The slogan ‘press on’ has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race”

“If I had permitted my failures, or what seemed to me at the time a lack of success to discourage me, I cannot see any way in which I ever would have made progress.”

“There is no dignity quite so impressive, and no independence quite so important, as living within your means.”

“Men show, by what they worship, what they are.”

“You can’t know too much, but you can say too much.”

Published in: on April 20, 2009 at 12:25 AM  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldmasonjar.wordpress.com/2009/04/20/cool-quotes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a wise man. If only others had lived by these guidelines perhaps our country wouldn’t be in the predicament it is.

  2. I love this glimpse into someone who was important in our history. Just reading that last quote I felt like he was speaking to me. Great quotes!

  3. Great quotes, that last one it my fav!

    Cheers, Kiy

  4. Funny how we all relate with the last quote :)

    Love these!

  5. Yes, I like the last one too.
    Sometimes we just talk too much. I learned through the years the art of pressing my lips. It is good.

  6. Tamy, exactly my thought as I read these quotes!

  7. love the one about living within your means what a lesson that is to teach and learn


Leave a Reply

