Haiku – Who Knew?

This Thankful Thursday, I’m thankful for the Haiku, aren’t you?  I never did think I liked the Haiku.  It seemed unAmerican or something. 

Haiku
Who knew Issa
Could make me want you?

I know, pretty bad and nothing about nature or double meanings or…   Maybe this will help you to forget.

Don’t worry, spiders,
I keep house
casually.
~ Issa*

At this home
Where I live quietly,
Even the flies
Have a small family.
~ Issa

Even with insects–
some can sing,
some can’t.
~ Issa

*Kobayashi Issa (1763-1827)
(Translated by Robert Hass)

View more Thankful Thursday Posts here.

Published in: on May 14, 2009 at 7:51 PM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldmasonjar.wordpress.com/2009/05/14/haiku-who-knew/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awesome post.

  2. This is a different sort of post, but really nice. Have a great night!

  3. Issa is a new poet to me. If you haven’t already, check out some haiku by Basho. He’s one of the oldest, and most famous, Japanese haiku writers. They are so very beautiful! And, if you’re interested, I host a Japanese Literature Challenge which will begin again in July, so come visit then. It’s a wonderful opportunity to read Japanese works.

  4. Wow, Okay… Don’t know this…

    I am finally getting over to your place for Thankful Thursday…. Last week. Yikes, I am a bit behind. Thank you for honoring the Lord with your Thankful heart. I will see you again this Thursday. Hugs

    PS. I forgot the computer tip last week but have a good one for this week.


Leave a Reply

