Thursday Thirteen Things I’d Enjoy on a Trip Back in Time

TT-PlaneHeader from Samulli

If I could somehow travel back to a time when kitchens were done in harvest gold, before 30 was old, when Elvis was King, Ali was in the ring, before Wal-Mart opened shops, when bell bottoms went with handkerchief tops, or beyond but I wasn’t allowed to make major changes (like buy stocks in microsoft or something); I would…

1.  … enjoy another Marathon Bar.  When I was a kid, I always chose the Marathon because it looked so huge, I thought for sure I was getting more candy than my sister who always chose Cherry Mash.  

2.  …go to into K-Mart: have my photo made in the photo booth, drink a coke at the cafe, keep an eye out for the blue light, and see how many items they had that were made in China.

3.  …go to a full-service filling station, have my gas pumped, oil and air checked, and windows cleaned – all from the comfort of my seat and without paying extra. 

4.  …relive the excitement of sitting around waiting for the Wizard of Oz, The Year Without a Santa Claus, or other seasonal favorite TV special; knowing I wouldn’t get a chance to see it again until next year rolled around.  Then I sit glued to the Television until I heard the words, “This concludes our broadcast day”,  followed by that old familiar tone illuminated with the bright color bars.

5.  …go back before microwave ovens (when a girl could still cook and still would) and  tupperware and find out how people handled their leftovers!

6.  …go to the local drugstore soda counter and order a vanilla root beer soda!

7.  …eat at PoFolks, or some other restaurant that you don’t see much of in the 2000’s, and I’d take some food back and do some side by side taste tests of the  products of yesteryear that are still being produced today to see if they really were better way back when.

8.  …go see loved ones who’ve gone on, and do a ton of genealogy research.

9.  …turn on my transistor radio with a knob as God intended and run up and down the dial without ever punching a button!

10.  …do Jay Leno “Man on the Street” type  interviews to see if people then were more up on their current events and then interview these same people asking them about future inventions, disasters, and changes in politics, life, and morality to get their reactions.

11.  …go to the schools and mentally compare today’s students, schools, and teachers with those in the past.

12.  …experience a small town event like they used to be, bigger and better!

13.  …and finally, go to all the places that when you inquire about them today, someone sadly responds, “It’s not there anymore.”

View the New Thursday 13 here for a list of participants.

Published in: on May 28, 2009 at 5:45 AM  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldmasonjar.wordpress.com/2009/05/28/thursday-thirteen-things-id-enjoy-on-a-trip-back-in-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. #3 – I notice they still do that from where I am. My mom is still a big fan and user of tupperware, and handles leftovers the way that’s disappearing in my kitchen. Nice list. Happy TT.

  2. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. Funny you should mention a microwave. I’ve been teaching my girls how to cook simple meals, once a week for the past few months. I’m sure they’ll thank me some day. Or at least their husbands will lol
    Happy T13!

  3. That was a clever and interesting t-13!

  4. ooooooooooooooohhh very sparky :D

  5. Wow, this brought back some fond memories-Marathon Bars! I LOVED those!

  6. PoFolks!!! OMG I loved that place, haven’t thought about it in years :-)

  7. Wow! What precious memories! My kids think a record is a HUGE CD and can’t understand how to play it, so now it is a cool frisbee.

    Blessings to you!

  8. Great post!
    I really enjoyed reading your 13.

  9. You remind me of the local station going off the air with some guy singing and playing guitar. Twenty years later I call still hear is voice.

  10. I like those old photobooths too.

  11. Grandma used to save all the aluminum pans from the cakes and pies. Then she load them with leftovers and let them warm up again in the stove set at a low temperature. She’d tent tin foil over the plates.

    I used to love Marathon bars too.

  12. Marathon bars! Wow, I’d forgotten all about those.

  13. What a great idea for T13!

  14. OOOHHH.. i am learning something new with every prompt i visit :)

    Happy TT

    did two

    http://whenhekissesher.wordpress.com/2009/05/29/thursday-13-flicks-that-click/

    and

    http://fart-in-a-jar.blogspot.com/2009/05/thursday-13-sides-of-me.html

  15. Thanks for sharing your trip down memory lane! I love #8 & #9.

  16. […] Thirteen Things I’d Enjoy on a Trip Back in Time […]


Leave a Reply

