Thankful Thursday Gratituesday ~ Friends in the Dark

gratituesday

“Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.” ~ Helen Keller

In this life, we will all walk down a few dark paths.  Some are darker and longer than others.  Recently, I have found myself walking on said dark path, and I have to agree with Ms. Keller.  I tried to walk it alone and the way seemed so unsure and frightening.  My mind began to play tricks on me and my imagination became my worst enemy.  I was my worst enemy.  My burden was heavy and I was foolish to try to bear it alone.  It was me and Jesus against the world, but it wasn’t enough because I only allowed Jesus in part way as I wasn’t allowing Jesus to work through my friends.  When I allowed my friends a glimpse of my darkness, my friends were quick to join me in the dark; to pray with me, cry with me, and to help me carry the burden so that I was able to breathe again.  I can now lift my eyes without fear and see the light ahead.  I am blessed to have such a group of wonderful friends.  I know that it is our faith that binds us and that brings so much compassion and love and hope.  May God grant me the ability to bless others as I have been blessed.  May I not be afraid to enter with another who is walking in the dark.

Owe no man any thing, but to love one another: for he that loveth another hath fulfilled the law. ~ Romans 13:8

To join the Gratituesday fun visit http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/blog/
View more Thankful Thursday Posts here.

Published in: on June 17, 2009 at 1:45 AM  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldmasonjar.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/gratituesday-friends-in-the-dark/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have gone through the same battle inside as you have described. Thank you for sharing. Have a great week.

  2. amen sis..I was listening to a praise CD and the song was Sheltering Tree..words were about friends who prayed for us..you were there for us…and I AM so thankful for those that the Lord has surrounded me with…

  3. Friends are such a sweet blessing!
    Happy TT to you!

  4. That is such a beautiful post. And so true. Not only do we have friends and family to walk down the dark paths with…but, we are never really alone. God is always with us and no matter how dark it gets He will always shine His light down on us.

  5. Absolutely true. That dark path draws a lot of people, but it’s so important to stay in the light. Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. Bless your dear heart.


Leave a Reply

