Sunday Scribblings ~ Indulgence

To Indulge:  To take extravagant pleasure
Indulgence:  The act or an instance of indulging; gratification: indulgence of every whim.  (Source:  http://www.answers.com)

Indulgence

I once swallowed a pill called indulgence.  ‘Twas sweet and gratifying and once it passed my lips the sweetness danced upon my tongue and sent shivers down my spine.  I closed my eyes and gave a soft sigh; my mind dwelt upon it’s richness.  Desire for more burned within me.  I began to search for another with a ravenous hunger.  At first I only craved one, just for now, just a taste.  But soon I could no longer be satisfied with one.  I forgot that substance of life that once nourished my soul for which long I had loved.  Oh how quickly my desires had turned from something so pure to something so base.  Instead of being patient and letting her have her “perfect work” so that I might “be perfect and entire, wanting nothing” I allowed my emotions to rule and reign.    Now nothing could stop my persuit of instant gratification.  That which used to amuse and delight was now but a passing flicker of light that I chose to ignore as I sank deeper and deeper into the intoxicating darkness.  My mind was constantly on a quest for something grander with more allure.  My cravings matured and my life atrophied.  The longer I chose to ignore the light the stronger the pull into that dark mist.  The voice within that once was so loud and clear was barely audible now.  In fact, another step or two and it would be silenced.  Forever.  Forgotten.  The endless tug of war between desire and fulfillment demanded my full attention.  Nothing else mattered.  I had boarded a train that carried me deep into a place for which I no longer had the strength to obstain, so I sat and acquiesced in silence.

If indulgence were a pill, how many would you take? 

I believe there is a time and a place for pills.  However, we also need fruit, more specifically the fruit of the Spirit as described by Paul in Galatians 5:22: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

For more Sunday Scribblings participants click here.

Published in: on July 12, 2009 at 6:07 PM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldmasonjar.wordpress.com/2009/07/12/sunday-scribblings-indulgence/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. If indulgence were a pill, I think I’d leave my prescription at the pharmacy. Nice essay.

  2. this describes perfectly addiction or hedonism. well done. i have written about something similar.

  3. interesting that the writer ignored the light – the light wasn’t gone, no one pulled a shade over it. It really IS all about choices isn’t it :)

  4. Excellent! Provocative!! If indulgence were a pill how many would any of us take??? How quickly that kind of living shuts out the light and the nutritious “fruit of the Spirit.” Good job!


Leave a Reply

