Thursday 13 ~ Lessons Learned

Thurs 13 Type
Banner created by Write From Karen: Web Designs

1. I should never, ever judge another person because I don’t fully understand his heritage, handicaps, or hardships.  Better to assume that he’s a tortured soul doing the best he can than to judge and have God enlighten me by sending me through a similar misfortune.

2.  Just because I live in an impatient society chock-full of fast foods, immediate communication, and instant information, doesn’t mean that the trial will be over in a day, an week, or a month.

3.  I have learned the value of reaching out to others in need with specific offers to help, and recuiting the services and help of others as well.

4.  Our vision is so limited we can hardly imagine a love that does not show itself in protection from suffering…. The love of God did not protect His own Son…. He will not necessarily protect us – not from anything it takes to make us like His Son. A lot of hammering and chiseling and purifying by fire will have to go into the process. ~ Elisabeth Elliot

5.  If the trial is great enough, some people (including friends and loved ones) will avoid me because they are afraid or unable to handle the situation, but it doesn’t mean that they love me any less. 

6.  Others will swoop  in like a one-man SWAT team advising, directing, comforting, and bringing in reinforcements.

7.  Computer experts will tell you to back up your files for when your computer crashes.  Not if, but when.  The same is true of trials.  The Bible doesn’t say if trials come but when they come to count them joy.
My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations;       Knowing [this], that the trying of your faith worketh patience. ~ James 1:2-3

8.  Sticking my head in the sand does nothing to help the situation.

9.  Allowing myself to share my burdens, produces both humility and relief.  Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ. Gal 6:2

10.  Poor health habits combined with an unhealthy lifestyle only compounds the situation.

11.  Instead of complaining about the things I don’t have, I should give thanks for that which I do have.  What I have could be lost in a moment and then I would only be wishing I could have that very thing I criticized.

12.  Kids don’t have to be totally sheltered from the trial as it allows them to see the Hand of God working.

13.  Seek God’s face!  It’s so easy to get bitter or angry or choose any number of wrong attitudes.  Don’t!  Ask Him what lesson I need to learn.  Ask forgiveness.  Ask for His guidance.  Pray without ceasing.

View the New Thursday 13 here for a list of participants.

Published in: on July 24, 2009 at 1:16 AM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldmasonjar.wordpress.com/2009/07/24/thursday-13-lessons-learned/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can very much relate to this post…right now I’m going through a trial…a fight for my life, actually. I begin chemo and radiation next week and the treatment regimen has a 75% chance of beating the cancer.

    Wish me luck?

  2. Bless your heart! I said a prayer for you. Good luck, dear.

  3. Thank you, Auntie :-)

  4. A very nice post!


Leave a Reply

