Mexican Chocolate Fudge

Mom always made several types of fudge at Christmas. My favorite was the old-fashioned kind, the one that required you to beat it until it lost its sheen. Today when I was going through her recipes I found a recipe that I don’t remember her making: “Mexican Chocolate Fudge” the card read. It was the hint of spice that drew me in. I read the card and gathered the ingredients listed there:

2 tablespoons butter
2/3 cup evaporated milk
1 2/3 cups granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups miniature marshmallows
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
3 1/8 ounces mexican chocolate, finely chopped (like Abuelita brand, one disc)

Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas” played on the radio, the Christmas tree smell mixed with the aroma of chocolate, and the Christmas lights danced in the background.

First, I prepared an 8×8 baking pan by lining it with aluminum foil and spraying the foil with nonstick cooking spray. Then I chopped the chocolate disk.

Next I put the butter, milk, sugar, cinnamon, cayenne and salt in a medium saucepan and turned the fire to a medium-high setting. I stirred this and watched the sugar dissolve.

I picked up the recipe again and followed the directions to “bring the mixture to a boil. Continue to let the candy boil, stirring constantly, for five minutes.”

When the five minutes were up, I set the pan on a trivet on the counter. Next I opened the marshmallows and chocolate chips and measured them into the pan, Then I added the vanilla and mixed it until it was well blended..

I smoothed my apron and brushed away a stray lock of gray hair before I poured the chocolate into the pan. Finally, I sprinkled the Mexican chocolate on top of the still wet fudge..

I placed the fudge in the refrigerator and pulled out a pitcher of fresh eggnog. I poured some of the rich drink into a tall Christmas mug. I removed my apron and hung it on the hook inside the pantry and sat down at the kitchen table. I closed my eyes, lifted my glass, and said, “Mom, here’s to you and your lust for life! Thanks for all the Christmases that we shared and the memories that we made. May you enjoy a Christmas feast this year at the Lord’s dining room table.”

Written for Three Word Wednesday using week’s words:
hint, lust, sheen

Published in: on October 8, 2010 at 3:41 PM  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldmasonjar.wordpress.com/2010/10/08/mexican-chocolate-fudge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A lovely slice-of-life moment here.

  2. Oh I just loved that, I feel all Christmasy! I’m so glad I stopped by … and thanks everso for you comment and popping by mine :o)

  3. Memories of our loved ones and food are some of the best, aren’t they? I really enjoyed this and it made me think of my grandmother’s cooking. I miss her. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Really filled with love, flavor and fun!! Excellent use of the prompt words :)

  5. Awww!!!Lovely…Spreading the flavours all over

  6. All that was missing was the recipe! Thanks for stopping by my blog

  7. Thank you, you are right! I was trying to keep it short – but should have not left that out!

  8. loved the flavors, the sense of warmth, and heart too

  9. Delicious take on the prompt


Leave a Reply

